Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mirror Sound

Mirror Sound

by Spencer Tweedy and Lawrence Azerrad

Regular price $35.00
Regular price Sale price $35.00
Sale Sold out

A look into the people and processes behind self-recorded music.

This is a photo-driven book that I created with Lawrence Azerrad as a love letter and a documentation of self-recording, this unique yet universal, fascinating yet accessible way of making music. The book features photos by Daniel Topete of artists in their spaces and stories/interviews of how they came to self-recording, their particular styles of production, and why they choose to live their lives as self-recording musicians. We completed the book in 2019 but it took on an even greater meaning and relevance in 2020 as most people became confined to their homes. We hope for Mirror Sound to be a message of encouragement. A piece of evidence that says “you can do this too.”

Foreword by Carrie Brownstein. Photos by Daniel Topete. Published by Prestel (Penguin Random House) on October 20, 2020.

192 pages, 9-1/4” x 11-1/2”


  • Blake Mills
  • Bobb Bruno
  • Bradford Cox
  • Cautious Clay
  • Dan Deacon
  • Eleanor Friedberger
  • Emitt Rhodes
  • Frankie Cosmos
  • Jay Som
  • Jim O’Rourke
  • Jonathan Rado
  • Juan Wauters
  • Juana Molina
  • Mac DeMarco
  • Matt Rendon
  • Open Mike Eagle
  • Phil Elverum
  • R.A.P. Ferreira
  • Sadie Dupuis
  • Sam Evian
  • Sharon Van Etten
  • Suzanne Ciani
  • Tune-Yards
  • Ty Segall
  • Vagabon
  • Yuka Honda

10% of the proceeds from every "Plant Something" series order goes to Sylvanaqua Farms' mutual aid fund, which is building infrastructure to end food apartheid.

View full details